Member Spotlight

ACNP Members have contributed to numerous developments in the field of neuropsychopharmacology. Be sure to also see ACNP Member History Interview Transcripts.


Gabriella Gobbi

Gabriella Gobbi Receives 2017 Dr. Sam Lal Award
Jun 30, 2017

Barbara Mason (PDF 167Kb)

R. Brinkley Smithers Distinguished Scientist Award
May 10, 2017

Tom Kilduff

Sleep Research Society’s Distinguished Scientist Award
May 10, 2017

Margaret Haney

Elected as President of the College on Problems of Drug Dependence
May 10, 2017

Wolfgang Fleischhacker

Elected President of the Medical University Innsbruck, Austria
May 10, 2017

Matthew Banks

Joseph Cochin Young Investigator Award
May 10, 2017

George Woody (PDF 78Kb)

Prix Galen Awards
May 10, 2017

Dan Blazer

2017 James B Snow, Jr., MD Award from the Hearing Loss Association of American
May 10, 2017

Helen Mayberg

Helen Mayberg elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences
May 8, 2017

Vince Calhoun

62nd Annual Research Lecture Honoree
May 8, 2017

Victoria Arango

2017 Morselli Medal, Lifetime Achievement Award
May 8, 2017

Bertha Madras

Named to serve on the President's Commission on Drug Addiction and the Opioid Crisis
May 8, 2017

Tom Insel

Alexander Award in Psychiatry honors Dr. Thomas Insel
Apr 20, 2017

Katherine Wisner (PDF 179Kb)

Dr. Katherine Wisner is awarded the 2017 American Psychiatric Association Award for Research.
Mar 17, 2017

Mary Kay Lobo

PECASE Award Winner
Jan 10, 2017

Steven Hyman

2016 Rhoda and Bernard Sarnat International Prize in Mental Health
Oct 17, 2016

Joshua Gordon

NIH names Dr. Joshua Gordon director of the National Institute of Mental Health
Jul 29, 2016

Bita Moghaddam

Dr. Bita Moghaddam recruited as new chair of behavioral neuroscience
Jul 19, 2016

Barbara Sahakian

Barbara Sahakian awarded Ethics Prize in Psychopharmacology at CINP
Jul 11, 2016

George Koob

NIAAA director George F. Koob to receive French Legion of Honor
Jul 5, 2016

Herbert Meltzer

Schizophrenia International Research Society, Lifetime Achievement Award
May 27, 2016

Larry Seidman

Schizophrenia International Research Society, Outstanding Clinical/Community Research Award
May 27, 2016

Anthony Grace

Schizophrenia International Research Society, Outstanding Basic Research Award
May 27, 2016

Aristotle Voineskos

Schizophrenia International Research Society, Rising Star Award
May 27, 2016

Kenneth Davis

Modern Healthcare's 50 Most Influential Physician Executives and Leaders - 2016
Apr 12, 2016

Noboru Hiroi (PDF 617Kb)

2016 Lilly Neuroscience Basic Research Award of the CINP
Apr 11, 2016

Ned Kalin and Carmine Pariante

Anna-Monika Prize
Sep 23, 2015

Karl Deisseroth

2015 Albany Medical Center Prize in Medicine and Biomedical Research
Jun 25, 2015

Stephen Deutsch (PDF 40Kb)

Navy and Marine Cops Commendation Medal
Mar 16, 2015

David Sibley and Charles France

2015 ASPET Election Results
Jan 22, 2015

James Barrett

2015 Torald Sollmann Award in Pharmacology
Jan 18, 2015

Leonard Howell

Leonard Howell Appointed Yerkes Associate Director for Scientific Programs
Dec 15, 2014

James Barrett

Dr. James Barrett Elected Councilor on the IUPHAR Executive Committee
Sep 16, 2014

Cindy Ehlers

2014 RSA Distinguished Researcher Award
Jul 24, 2014

Jeffrey Witkin (PDF 117Kb)

2014 Ray Fuller Award Lecture
Jun 18, 2014

Rita Goldstein

The Jacob P. Waletzky Award, supported by The Waletzky Family, honors a scientist who has conducted research or plans to conduct research in the area of substance abuse and the brain and nervous system.
May 5, 2014

Trevor Robbins

The Grete Lundbeck European Brain Research Prize – ‘The Brain Prize’- recognizing highly original and influential advances in European neuroscience.
May 1, 2014

Lewis Judd

Award for Research in Mood Disorders by the American College of Psychiatrists
Apr 2, 2013

Craig Powell and Lisa Monteggia

The Autisms - Molecules to Model Systems
Oct 22, 2012

Max Fink (PDF 2742Kb)

New York Academy of Medicine - 2011 Thomas W. Salmon Medalist
Oct 14, 2011

Helen Mayberg

Nobel Conference 47 Presenter Profile: Helen Mayberg
Aug 31, 2011

Martin Katz

Martin Katz honored for pioneering work.
Jul 29, 2011

Conan Kornetsky

Conan Kornetsky Receives 2011 Bernard Lown University of Maine Alumni Humanitarian Award
Jun 30, 2011

Alfred Lewy

University of Chicago 2011 Professional Achievement Award
May 26, 2011

Nora Volkow

Director Of National Institute On Drug Abuse to Receive Alexander Award In Psychiatry
Apr 25, 2011

Bryan Roth

Bryan Roth honored for excellence in clinical pharmacology
Mar 23, 2011

Katherine Wisner

Katherine Wisner receives AMWA's 2011 Women in Science Award.
Jan 27, 2011

Mark Geyer

Heffter Research Center - Bleuler Award Winner 2010
Nov 18, 2010

Charles O'Brien and Eric Nestler

Charles O’Brien Receives Institute of Medicine's 2010 Sarnat Prize in Mental Health
Oct 11, 2010

Kurt Rasmussen (PDF 13Kb)

Kurt Rasmussen, Ph.D., is a great example of an ACNP Member who gives back to his community. Dr. Rasmussen is an active volunteer and board member of College Mentors for Kids, Inc.

Nora Volkow (PDF 56Kb)

Nora Volkow, M.D., Named on Time 100 List of People Who Shape Our World
Apr 30, 2007

Dr. Sol Snyder (PDF 30Kb)

Creativity in Psychopharmacology Research ... With The Spark of a True Mentor
Dec 5, 2006

Task Force Reports

For reports and recommendations regarding issues of social importance, read the latest ACNP Task Force Reports.

Community Education

See community initiatives funded in part by the ACNP that help people learn more about mental health and read about winners of our Outreach Initiative Awards in the Community Education Programs section.

Member Interviews

For historical perspective, read ACNP interviews with pioneers in the field of psychopharmacology.